Saturn Management……

“What we call our destiny is truly our character and that character can be altered. The knowledge that we are responsible for our actions and attitudes does not need to be discouraging, because it also means that we are free to change this destiny. One is not in bondage to the past, which has shaped our feelings, to race, inheritance, background. All this can be altered if we have the courage to examine how it formed us. We can alter the chemistry provided we have the courage to dissect the elements.”
― Anaïs Nin, The Diary of Anaïs Nin, Vol. 1: 1931-1934

Anaïs Nin – a prolific diarist and author, and a completely unique soul sums up a great way to approach any aspect where Saturn may appear in one’s chart. Saturn always raises a sharp intake of breath by seasoned and newbie astrologers – because invariably, wherever Saturn appears hard work and responsibility ensue. The hardest work ever is of course the work we do on ourselves, be that psychological/physical/emotional. With a Saturn return in any chart, anything in the past that we have not fixed, ignored or neglected will indeed become top billing in our lives.

We are forced to ‘fix’ ourselves during a Saturn return. Sometimes, this is an absolute joy (speaking as a Virgo sun here, it is true, we love work!). Saturn returns are paradoxical like that. They may well bring what may seem like hard changes or extra responsibility coupled with an increase in status, but when looked on with hindsight it is possible to see that if it were not for those supposed ‘hard’ changes or extra responsibility/increase in status, your life would not be what it is today (hopefully more streamlined/concentrated and workable after a Saturn return!).

From personal experience, my Saturn return coincided with extra work/responsibility coupled with a diagnosis of inflammatory arthritis…Joy!. I ignored the illness, stiff upper lip and all that and worked flat out/studying/burning the candle at both ends. I was going great guns at work, adhering to a strong Saturn work ethic, whilst my knees slowly crumbled, not to mention my mind. Ironic as it is, Saturn rules the skeletal system in astrology. Who knew?! I sure found out. Coupled with a Capricorn ascendant, Saturn being the ruler of Capricorn, I had a double dose.

As the Saturn return progressed, I learnt a lot about myself. I was forced to take responsibility for my health, something that I had taken for granted up to that point (don’t we all in the throes of youth…okay I was not that young!) and I was not a happy bunny at work, in fact, I just could not continue ignoring the fact that I was unwell and needed to stop work, I felt completely overwhelmed with life. And now, after the madness (or so it felt) of the Saturn return, I see the silver lining. I have taken control of my health as much as I can, and I have simplified my life as much as possible. I have tried to become my own best friend, instead of my own worst enemy.

A gift from Saturn at last. It does happen, you have to look for it, in fact you need to HUNT for it, but when your Saturn return is through, you will be better for it and will have learnt valuable lessons to take you through until the next one. Please share your Saturn return stories, and perhaps you can convince us that there is indeed a gift in Saturn Returns! If you are in the midst of one, HUNT for that gift, and have courage.

3 thoughts on “Saturn Management……

Leave a Reply

